Hiragana on the FF7 Naming Screen

When naming characters in Final Fantasy VII, you can use either hiragana or katakana letters.

The default alphabet shown is hiragana but the default name is katakana.

Below is the Character Naming Screen with the hiragana alphabet selected:


Hiragana "Alphabet" (Syllabary)

Main Symbols (Monographs)

Select a character below to see where it's used in Final Fantasy VII.



Hiragana also has syllables that are created by adding a small -ya, -yu, -yo immediately after a character. For example:

  • ki + ya = kya
  • shi + yu = shu
  • chi + yo = cho

See below for the full table. (Note: katakana has even more variations.)